This is the "PDHPE Home" page of the "PDHPE guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PDHPE guide  

Last Updated: Aug 2, 2016 URL: http://barkerlibrarynsw.libguides.com/pdhpe Print Guide RSS Updates

PDHPE Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

PDHPE: Quick Links

 

PDHPE @ Barker

Read all about the PDHPE Curriculum and related activities, including exhibitions.

 

Useful Websites

The latest health news from Australia and around the world, as well as tips and information to help you improve your health and wellbeing.

AIHW - Australian Institute of Health and Welfare:  Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information.

Health Insite:  Using this Internet gateway, you can access a wide range of up-to-date and reliable information on health and wellbeing.

The Australian Guide to Healthy Eating:  This information is based on the Nutrient Reference Values for Australia and New Zealand Including Recommended Dietary Intakes.

My Daily Intake Guide:  The Daily Intake Guide can make healthy eating easier by providing a better view of what's in your food and drinks.

Headspace:  Australia's National Youth Mental Health Foundation. If you or someone you know is going through a tough time headspace can help.

Beyondblue:  Depression and anxiety can affect anyone, anywhere, at any time.

 

Black Dog Institute:  A not-for-profit, educational, research, clinical and community-oriented facility offering specialist expertise in depression and bipolar disorder.

Bullying. No Way!:  Australia's safe and supportive school communities getting to the heart of the matter!

Australian Institute of Sport:  Leading the development of elite sport in Australia.

First Aid:  St John is Australia's leading provider of first aid training.

RTA: State government authority that builds major roads, promotes road safety, manages traffic, regulates vehicles and licenses drivers.

abs21

The ABS is Australia’s national statistical agency, providing trusted official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters of importance to Australia.

druginfo

drug info @ your library provides up to date information about alcohol and drugs on this website and through local public libraries in New South Wales

Peak Performance Lite is a free newsletter. In each issue, there are articles about ways to improve strength and fitness… from mental training to muscle building... to injury prevention, stamina and endurance strategies. Included are practical tips, training programmes, and exercises which are being used by thousands of athletes across the world. The newsletter is edited by Andrew Hamilton - a sports science writer and researcher, specialising in sports nutrition who has worked in the field of fitness and sports performance for over 30 years.

 

PDHPE

Word cloud created with http://www.wordle.net/

 

Tips to help you research

Check out the RESEARCH HELP page on the library libguide...


Watch this video...

While this "How to..." video has been created for university students, it has some helpful tips for high school student research.

There is a lot of useful information on the Internet. How do you evaluate what you find, to ensure it is appropriate to use for scholarly assignments? This video demonstrates how to determine if a website is 'scholarly' enough to use.

Published on Sep 8, 2015 by CSU Library: Evaluating Internet Sources.

 

Using EBSCO to find resources

EBSCO offers library resources to customers in academic, medical, K–12, public library, law, corporate, and government markets.  It is a database that can give you access to online ebooks, articles and journals. It is particularly useful if you are looking for current resources, research and academic literature.

You can access this collection of resources anytime, anywhere.

Watch the video below to learn how to make EBSCO work for you:

 

Creating a Bibliography / Reference List

It  is VERY EASY to create a bibliography using the SLASA online referencing generator!!

 TIP:  

Create a document and start your bibliography as you start your research...

Use the SLASA Referencing Generator to help you do this accurately:

Copy the information from your source into the template, and a reference will be generated for you..

Copy and paste this reference into the document you have created for your bibliography.

Once your research is complete, organise your bibliography in alphabetical order and include it at the end of your research.


See the video below that Ms Hildreth has created, explaining and demonstrating this process:

 

Help with In-Text Referencing

 

Turnitin

Turnitin is an electronic text matching system that compares text in a student assignment against a database of sources. The database contains copies of electronic text on the Internet, in published works, on commercial databases, and in assignments previously submitted to Turnitin by students all over the world, including assignments obtained from internet sites that sell student papers.

Turnitin provides an Originality Report in which 'matched' text is underlined, colour coded, and linked to either the original source or a similar document on its database. The report also provides an indication of the proportion of the submitted work that matches other sources.

You should receive an invitation and password in your school email account from turnitin.com when an assignment is added to your class.

Use this link to access turnitin and submit your assignment for checking:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip