Andrew HouseBoyce HouseButters HouseHolt HousePain HouseWade HouseWailes HouseWilson House
Henry PlumeWilliam CarterArthur ThoroldWilliam LeslieJohn DewesTrevor McCaskillNeil TuckerRoderic Kefford
Historical NamesSchool Colours, Motto and CrestSchool Captains
Barker and The Great WarBarker and World War TwoBarker and Recent Conflicts
Boyce HallCarter HouseThe Mint GatesPlume HouseClassroom Block and Administration BuildingStokesleighDining HallWar Memorial ChapelWest Wing-The PalaceHornsby Hundred BuildingDavid Gamson Physical Education CentreRosewood Playing FieldsGrandstandThe Marks PavilionBarker OvalLibrarySenior SchoolLeslie HallBarker College Junior SchoolR A Ward Building
This is the "Home" page of the "Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archives  

Last Updated: Aug 31, 2017 URL: http://barkerlibrarynsw.libguides.com/archives Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Details

Morwenna Dixon, Manager of Archives

Ph: (02) 9847 8290

archives-BC@barker.nsw.edu.au

91 Pacific Highway
Hornsby NSW 2077

Archives on Flickr

The Barker College Archives in now on Flickr!

Please click on the image above to access our photos.

      
     

    Welcome to the Barker College Archives

    Established in 1964, the Barker College Archives endeavours to provide a place of perpetuity for the records and memorabilia of the school's history to be kept in continuity. The Archive functions as the memory vault for the school's staff, students, families, friends and associates, past and present.

    The Barker College Archives contains the official records and memorabilia of the school, its associations (eg. the Old Barker Association, Barker College Mothers' Association, Foundation) and individuals that have been selected by the School Archivist for preservation because of their inherent administrative and historical significance.

    Examples of records and museum items held in the collection include: trophies, blazers, boaters, war medals, minute books, official correspondence, drama programs, school photos, architectural plans, oral histories, prize books, master plans, school magazines and publications, student enrolment registers and prize lists.

     

    Photo of the Week

    In 1947, a man about 5 feet 10 inches tall dressed in sports clothes entered the Headmaster's residence (now Stokesleigh) wanting to see someone. When questioned further, the intruder was vague and hesitant, so the Headmaster, Mr Leslie, took hold of him with the intent of removing him from the grounds. A tussle ensued, leaving the Headmaster with broken glasses and an injury to the eye. The intruder got away, without the blankets and clothing that he had stolen from the School's storeroom and hidden in the garden. The events of that night were reported in The Daily Mirror.

     

    What does the Archives do?

    Articles being written,

    Research projects undertaken,

    Collection of periodicals,

    History being published,

    Interesting displays mounted

    Verifying uncertain facts,

    Extra-curricular entertainment,

    Special tasks accomplished.

    The College Barker 1978, p. 67

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip